Сталкивались ли вы со случаями, когда вам приходилось отправлять крупногабаритный физический предмет кому-то, например, журналисту?

Вероятно, более пяти лет назад, когда нам нужно было отправить физический предмет журналисту или заинтересованному лицу, мы вызывали курьерскую компанию, и один из их парней сразу появлялся, и в течение нескольких часов этот предмет прибыл бы в пункт назначения. Затраты были разумными, сопоставимыми с поездкой на одном такси.

Спустя много лет ситуация кардинально изменилась.

Только что нам нужно было отправить небольшой ноутбук, портативную игровую консоль и несколько футболок на Орчард-роуд. Курьерская компания, которую мы часто используем, называла - 70 сингапурских долларов за одну поездку из нашего офиса в центральном деловом районе (CBD) до Орчард-роуд.

Позвольте мне оценить расстояние в перспективе. Согласно Google Maps, самый длинный маршрут составляет 5.2 км и занимает 9 минут на машине.

Если бы я поймал обычное такси из своего офиса, я бы смог совершить от 9 до 10 поездок с 70 сингапурскими долларами до Орчард-роуд. Если бы мне пришлось поймать модное такси-лимузин, я бы смог совершить около 5 поездок в одно и то же место.

Короче говоря, я мог бы съездить на Орчард-роуд на такси, выпить хорошего кофе американо, поехать на другом такси обратно в офис, и у меня в кармане останется более 50 сингапурских долларов.

В конце концов, мы обратились к другой курьерской компании, которая предлагает более ограниченные предложения, но более приемлемая стоимость - 42 сингапурских доллара. Нелегко проглотить, но лучше, чем 70 сингапурских долларов.

Деловые расходы растут, и никто не щадит бизнес. Расходы на аренду, рабочую силу, оборудование, программное обеспечение, коммунальные услуги, налоги и т. Д. Растут, некоторые больше, чем другие. Тем не менее, рост должен соответствовать реальности по сравнению со справедливыми предложениями, а не опережать реальность.

wing mirror

Got a bulky item to send? Take a cab

Have you encountered occasions when you have to send a bulky physical item to someone, such as a journalist?

Probably more than five years ago, whenever we needed to send a physical item to a journalist or a stakeholder here, we would call up a courier company, and one of their guys would turn up promptly, and within a couple of hours, the item would have arrived at the destination. The costs were reasonable, comparable to a single cab trip.

Many years on today, the situation has changed drastically.

Just now, we needed to send a small laptop, a handheld game console, and a few T-shirts to a location in Orchard Road. The courier company we use often, quoted – S$70 for a single trip from our office in the central business district (CBD) to Orchard Road.

Let me put the distance in perspective. According to Google Maps, the longest route is 5.2 km, and takes 9 minutes by car.

If I were to hail a typical cab from my office, I would be able to make around 9 to 10 trips with S$70 to Orchard Road. If I were to hail a fancy limousine cab, I can take around 5 trips to the same location.

In short, I would be able to take a trip to the location in Orchard Road by cab, have a nice Americano coffee, take another cab back to the office, and have more than S$50 left in my pocket.

Eventually, we went to another courier company, one that has more limited offerings, but a more palatable cost of S$42. Not a cost easy to swallow, but better than S$70.

Business costs are escalating and no business is spared. There are costs in rental, manpower, equipment, software, utilities, taxes, etc, all of which are increasing, some more than others. Still, the increase has to be congruent with the reality compared to equitable offerings, rather than outpace reality.

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditlinkedinfacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditlinkedin
twitterlinkedinvimeotwitterlinkedinvimeo

Comments

Dr Seamus Phan is the Creative Director and Lead Strategist for McGallen & Bolden, a firm that offers consulting in public relations (PR), marketing communication, branding, social media, mobile apps, online video, media training, crisis communication, launch events, market research, and more. This article appears on his personal blog concurrently. ©1984-2014 Seamus Phan et al. All rights reserved.